Everything you need to know about the National Universities Commission (NUC)


The National Universities Commission (NUC) is a parastatal under the Federal Ministry of Education (FME). One of its main functions is to approve academic programmes run in Nigerian universities and ensure quality assurance of all academic programmes.

The Commission has a Governing Council, its Executive Secretary is Prof. Abubakar Adamu Rasheed mni, MFR, who assumed office on August 3, 2016.

When was the National Universities Commission (NUC) established?

The National Universities Commission was established in 1962 as an advisory agency in the Cabinet Office. However, in 1974, it became a statutory body and the first Executive Secretary, in the person of Prof. Jibril Aminu was then appointed.

Over the years, the Commission has transformed from a small office in the cabinet office to an important arm of government in the area of development and management of university education in Nigeria.

The Main Functions of the National Universities Commission (NUC)


  1. Granting approval for all academic programmes run in Nigerian universities;
  2. Granting approval for the establishment of all higher educational institutions offering degree programmes in Nigerian universities;
  3. Ensure quality assurance of all academic programmes offered in Nigerian universities; and
  4. Channel for all external support to the Nigerian universities.

How Many Directorates does the National Universities Commission (NUC) have?

The National Universities Commission (NUC) has thirteen (13) Directorates and they are headed by a Director. They are;

  1. Directorate of Academic Planning
  2. Directorate of Inspection and Monitoring
  3. Directorate of Management Support Services
  4. Directorate of the Establishment of Private Universities
  5. Directorate of Students Support Services
  6. Directorate of Research
  7. Innovations & Information Technology
  8. Directorate of Finance and Accounts
  9. Directorate of Accreditation
  10. Directorate of Open and Distance Education
  11. Directorate of Liaison Services and International Cooperation
  12. Directorate of Corporate Communications,  and the
  13. Directorate of the Executive Secretary’s Office.

The Commission has recorded a number of successes since its inception. These successes can be attributed to the quality of leadership, dedication and commitment of the staff, the quality of its Board members, cooperation received from Universities and support from the Federal Government.

As a coordinating body, the Commission ensures it discharges its responsibilities by recruiting adequate and relevant manpower and appeals to the Universities for their sustained support and understanding. The Commission also relies on support from the Federal Government, State Governments and other stakeholders in its bid to improve on the quality of tertiary education and graduates of the nation’s university system.

You might also like
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x