List of all State Universities in Nigeria


Education in Nigeria has grown, not only with the creation of private owned tertiary institutions and federal government owned institutions, but mostly with universities/tertiary institutions owned by states. More and more state government are investing heavily in universities as a means of not only creating education for its indigenes but also as an avenue to creating wealth.

Who owns state universities in Nigeria?

State universities are owned and controlled by the state government of the respective states they are established in. The National University Commission (NUC) regulates all universities in Nigeria, including state universities.

How many state universities do we have in Nigeria?

Presently, there are forty-eight (48) state universities in Nigeria.

We have painstakingly collated the list of all state universities in Nigeria, alongside the year they were established, their websites and their present vice-chancellors.



There! If you’ve got questions or observations, do well to leave a comment!

You might also like
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
1 Comment
Most Voted
Newest Oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x