African Currencies & their ISOs


Prior to the use of typical currencies, African currencies were formed from common materials, items and barter trades as mediums of buying and selling. It is was until European colonial masters introduced their own monetary means in the countries they dominated in the 17th century that African currencies started changing from the use of local items, such as shells, ingots, Gold (gold dust and gold coins (the Asante), arrowheads, iron, salt, cattle, goats, blankets, axes, beads, cowries, perforated coppers, brass, etc., to metal coins and notes.

Some African countries, after the departure of European colonial powers as a result of independence, found reasons to change their currencies and their names as given by their colonialists while some post-colonial governments found no reasons to have their currencies changes.

In Nigeria, for example, the British West African pound was replaced by the Nigerian pound which was divided into shillings, before being replaced by the Naira. The Naira is still being used in Nigeria to date.

The essence of this post is to list all present African currencies as well as their ISOs:

Present Currencies of African Countries
Currency ISO Country Currency
DZD  Algeria Algerian dinar
AOA  Angola Kwanza
XOF  Benin CFA franc
BWP  Botswana Pula
XOF  Burkina Faso CFA franc
BIF  Burundi Burundi franc
XAF  Cameroon CFA franc
CVE  Cape Verde Cape Verdean escudo
XAF  Central African Republic CFA franc
XAF  Chad CFA franc
KMF  Comoros Comorian franc
XAF  Republic of the Congo CFA franc
CDF  Democratic Republic of the Congo Congolese franc
DJF  Djibouti Djiboutian franc
EGP  Egypt Egyptian pound
XAF  Equatorial Guinea CFA franc
ERN  Eritrea Nakfa
ETB  Ethiopia Ethiopian birr
XAF  Gabon CFA franc
GMD  Gambia Dalasi
GHS  Ghana Ghanaian cedi
GNF  Guinea Guinean franc
XOF  Guinea-Bissau CFA franc
XOF  Ivory Coast CFA franc
KES  Kenya Kenyan shilling
LSL  Lesotho Loti
LRD  Liberia Liberian dollar
LYD  Libya Libyan dinar
MGA  Madagascar Malagasy ariary
MWK  Malawi Malawian kwacha
XOF  Mali CFA franc
MRO  Mauritania Ouguiya
MUR  Mauritius Mauritian rupee
MAD  Morocco Moroccan dirham
MZN  Mozambique Mozambican metical
NAD  Namibia Namibian dollar
XOF  Niger CFA franc
NGN  Nigeria Naira
RWF  Rwanda Rwandan franc
STD  Sao Tome and Principe Dobra
XOF  Senegal CFA franc
SCR  Seychelles Seychellois rupee
SLL  Sierra Leone Sierra Leonean leone
SOS  Somalia shilling
ZAR  South Africa South African rand
SSP  South Sudan South Sudanese pound
SDG  Sudan Sudanese pound
SZL  Swaziland Lilangeni
TZS  Tanzania Tanzanian shilling
XOF  Togo CFA franc
TND  Tunisia Tunisian dinar
UGX  Uganda Ugandan shilling
ZMW  Zambia Zambian kwacha
ZBN  Zimbabwe RTGS Dollar


You might also like
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x